Heitor Villa-Lobos

(1887 - 1959, Brasilien)

Ciranda das sete notas

The frequently performed Ciranda das sete notas for bassoon and strings is one of about 2500 pieces written by Villa-Lobos. The work saw its world premiere in 1933, performed by the Orquestra do Teatro Municipal in Rio de Janeiro, conducted by the composer himself.

The acoustic color of the bassoon with its warm, dark charisma and his many-sided character of melancholy, sadness and joy is unique. In Villa-Lobos’ Ciranda das sete notas the bassoon can play off its beautiful strength which marks this work to one of the most popular bassoon concerts ever.

Ciranda das Sete Notas

“Irony and Brazilian rhythms on the one hand, exuberant virtuosity of the solo instrument on the other, gives this piece its face.”


For Bassoon solo and strings (Duration: 10 Min.)

Score - Order-No. 2118 - Price: 20,50 €
Piano Reduction - Ordern-No. 1411 - Price: 16,00 €
Performance material (rental)


More orchestral works by Heitor Villa-Lobos published at peermusic classical:

  • Fantasia for saxophone and chamber orchestra (14 Min)

  • Fantasia de Movimentos Mixtos for violin and orchestra (25 Min)
  • Sinfonietta No. 1 (20 Min)
  • Sinfonietta No. 2 (20 Min)


Brinquedo de Roda (The Toy Wheel)


for piano solo

Order- No.: 1216

Price: 11,50 €