Gediminas Gelgotas‘ music is captivating a new, and younger, audience of classical music. Critics point to a unique and highly attractive musical language based on modern, multi–stylistic influences that combines austere, melodic beauty with a stunning rhythmic drive.

The musical events of the Lithuanian composer, sometimes described as ′contemporary rock wearing the dress of academic music,′ represent a syncretic form of minimalist art that combines performing musicians with minimal choreography, lighting, scenographic and visual effects to create an exhilarating event situated in the area between academic and popular music. His musical language is based on a refined aesthetic that is flavored with sometimes sharp, sometimes gentle hints of (post)minimalism involving the frequent appearance of broken melodic segments, short, angular sections, occasional rigid ′roboticisms′ in rhythm, melody and musical temperament. Though aggressive, unconventional string techniques are often employed, a sensuous nucleus remains intact. Universally relevant ideas are expressed in the titles of his works (′What’s Unrobotizable′, ′Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean′, ′Extracultural′).

To implement his unique creative vision, Gediminas Gelgotas turned to a model widely employed by the American minimalist composers, and in 2006, he established his own ensemble – the New Ideas Chamber Orchestra (NICO), a string ensemble that he continues to lead today. NICO has presented Gelgotas’ music at a wide range of European and American concert venues, including the Institute of Contemporary Arts in London and the 21er Haus in Vienna.

To date, Gelgotas‘ music has been presented at many prestigious classical music festivals including the Beethovenfest (Bonn, 2014), Verbier (2014, composer in residence), Schleswig-Holstein (2013), Young Euro Classics (Berlin, 2012) and Usedom (2012). Works have been commissioned by the ′Orpheus Foundation′ (Switzerland), MDR Radio Symphony Orchestra (Leipzig, Germany), ′Vilnius Festival′ (Lithuania), and the ′Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic′. His work ′Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean′ was premiered at the Berlin Konzerthaus with the Baltic Youth Philharmonic conducted by Kristjan Järvi in 2012 and was described as ′a sensation′ (Neue Musikzeitung, 2012). On September 1, 2013 the work was broadcast widely on German radio and soon made the rounds of European music festivals. Since September 2015, it is often televised in Europe and Asia by the international classical and jazz music channel Mezzo TV. The world premiere of his first symphony ′Extracultural′ took place at the prestigious Gewandhaus concert hall in Leipzig, January 17, 2015. His latest work ′Mountains. Waters. (Freedom)′ was premiered at the Tonhalle Zürich in September 12, 2015. Gelgotas has also created music for several Lithuanian film and theater productions. Latest awards include the Neva Foundation Prize (Switzerland, Verbier Festival, 2014) and St. Christopher’s Award (Lithuania, Vilnius City Municipality, 2015).

Gediminas Gelgotas graduated from the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre, where he studied composition and orchestral conducting. He later continued his academic career at the Hochschule for Music And Theater Hamburg, where he studied composition with Peter Michael Hamel (2009–2010). In 2010 the composer signed with Peermusic Classical (Hamburg–New York) to publish and distribute his scores.



An End is a beginning
(for string orchestra, duration: 6 min.)

 Echoes for a thousand Years
(for string orchestra, duration: 7:30 min.)

To the Skies
(for S/vn/va/vc, pf ad lib, duration: 3 min.)

What´s Unrobotizable
(for string quartet, duration: 8 min.)

Unrobotizable 21, Free
(for string orchestra, duration: 8 min.)

Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean
(version for symphony orchestra and voices, duration: 8 min.)

Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean
(version for violin and piano, duration: 6 min.)

Extracultural (Symphony No. 1)
(for symphony orchestra and ensemble, duration: 43 min.)

Mountains. Waters. (Freedom)
(for symphony orchestra, duration: 10 min.)