Music for The Twiolins - New Works for two Violins

CD Sunfire - The Twiolins

The series of winning compositions of the Crossover Composition Award (CCA), founded by Marie-Luise und Christoph Dingler, are all going to be published in our new edition. Established as an international composition competition, new works for violin duo are called to be submitted in a 3-years turn. After a pre-selection it is appealed to the audience to decide on the winning titles in the finals festive concert.

The sheet music of the 2012 winning titles are for the first time exclusively available in our edition ‚Music for The Twiolins‘.

The Twiolins perform selected works of these winning titles in their concerts, they also have been recorded on their CD Sunfire.


Reviews:

 ‘The Twiolins’ Fascinate and Revolutionize the Crossover Music Scene

“The works were written with the sole purpose of uniting popular music and serious art music into a popular, effective kind of music, which existed up until the time of jazz, but which needed to be re-mixed and re-invented again with the stylistic elements of the individual genres of pop music. Like songs, the works have programmatic titles that announce their expressive and onomatopoeic intent. Alongside the extensive virtuosic pieces which also combine Shakespeare rap, rock, jazz and elements of the devil’s violin, large emotions are called for in chanson-like dances for the sibling soloists […]. And so, this brilliant firework ended with a bombshell [effect] in the ‘Orient Express’, the impressive final explosion of many violin concertos.”
Neue Presse, Coburg, 5.13.2014 – Dr. Peter Müller

 
“[…] Johannes Söllners ‘Doch Laub und Wolken unter Nacht’ [‘Yet Leaves and Clouds by Night’] […]. The sound textures poetically paint an image of nature that contains within it rawness as well as grace. It is the beauty of the progressive that captivates and takes hold of listeners.”
Manheimer Morgen, 1.31.2014 – mer

 
“[…] With his ambitious work ‘Orient Express’, Tonio Geugelin (*1991) has coaxed all the finesse of possible timbral effects from the violin. Plucked and bowed using the most varied techniques of bowing to create the most widely diverse timbres, double stops with pizzicato accompaniment, glissandi gliding up and down the strings, a melody of harmonics, or playing with the mute created ever new timbres […]. […] Suites and Divertimenti by Haydn or Mozart were also nothing more than pretty popular music in their day.”
Frankfurter Neue Presse, 2.22.2014 – Brigitte Gaiser


Crossover Composition Award 2015

The estimated publication date of the compositions of the CCA 2015 will be in July 2017.

Leporello

All works and composers are portrayed in this leporello.

Audio samples

Music issues from CCA 2012:

1st Prize: Doch Laub und Wolken unter Nacht, Johannes Söllner
Cat.-No.:3911

2nd Prize: Orient Express, Tonio Geugelin
Cat.-No.: 3912

3rd Prize: Sonnet ^5, Sophie Pope
Cat.-No.: 3913

5th Prize: Five Two Tango, Jonathan Russell
Cat.-No.: 3914

6th Prize: Schienen-Kapriolen (Capricious Rails), Hans-Günther Allers
Cat.-No.: 3915

Special Prize:
Veitztanz Nr. 1, Michael FP Huber
Cat.-No.: 3916

Written off competition:

An Ant's World, Robert Cohen
Cat.-No.: 4056

Maha Nada, Sebastian Sylla
Cat.-No.: 4057

Sunfire, Franz Cibulka
Cat.-No.:4058

Music for The Twiolins – Neue Werke für zwei Violinen

CD Sunfire - The Twiolins

Unsere neue Edition umfasst die Gewinner-Kompositionen des Crossover Composition Award (CCA), der von Marie-Luise und Christoph Dingler gegründet wurde. Als international ausgeschriebener Kompositionswettbewerb fordert er alle drei Jahre dazu auf, neue Werke für Violin-Duo zu schreiben, über die - nach einer Vorauswahl - das Publikum in einem festlichen Konzert-Finale entscheidet.

Erstmalig sind die Notenausgaben der Preisträgerwerke 2012 exklusiv in unserer Edition ‚Music for The Twiolins‘ veröffentlicht worden.

Eine Auswahl der Preisträgerwerke wird von ‚The Twiolins’ in ihren Konzerten aufgeführt und ist auf ihrer CD Sunfire veröffentlicht worden.


Rezensionen:

„The Twiolins“ faszinieren und revolutionieren die Crossover-Musikszene

„Die Werke wurden allein für den Anspruch geschrieben, U- und E-Musik wieder zu einer populären effektiven Musikart zu vereinen, die es bis hin zur Zeit des Jazz gab, die aber erst wieder mit den Stilmitteln der einzelnen Genres der Popmusik neu aufgemischt, neu erfunden werden muß. Wie Songs haben die Werke programmatische Titel, die ihre expressive und lautmalende Intention ankündigen. Neben den extensiv virtuosen Stücken, in den sich auch Shakespeare-Rap, Rock, Jazz und Elemente der Teufelsgeige verbinden, sind große Gefühle in chansonartigen Tänzen für das solistische Geschwisterpaar angesagt […].Und dieses Brillantfeuerwerk endete daher in der Tat im 'Orient Express' mit einem Knalleffekt, dem effektvollen Schlussschnalzer vieler Violinkonzerte.“
Neue Presse, Coburg, 13.5.2014 – Dr. Peter Müller


„ […] Johannes Söllners 'Doch Laub und Wolken unter Nacht' […]. Poetisch malen die Klangtexturen ein Naturbild, das Roheit und Anmut zugleich in sich trägt. Es ist die Schönheit des Progressiven, die die Zuhörer hier begeistert und ergreift.“
Manheimer Morgen, 31.1.2014 – mer


„ […] Tonio Geugelin (*1991) hatte mit seinem anspruchsvollen Stück 'Orient Express' alle Finessen möglicher Wirkungen von Klangfarben der Violine ausgeschöpft. Da wurde gezupft und gestrichen mit den vielfältigsten Bogenstricharten für ganz unterschiedliche Klangfarben, da gab es Doppelgriffe mit Pizzikato-Begleitung, Glissandi glitten die Saiten rauf und runter, eine Flageolett-Melodie oder das Spiel mit Dämpfer gaben wieder neue Klangfarben her […]. […] Suiten und Divertimenti von Haydn oder Mozart waren zu ihrer Zeit auch nichts anderes als hübsche Unterhaltungsmusik.“
Frankfurter Neue Presse, 22.2.2014 – Brigitte Gaiser


Crossover Composition Award 2015

Die Gewinnerkompositionen des CCA 2015 werden voraussichtlich im Juli 2017 veröffentlicht.

Leporello

Alle Werke und Komponisten werden in diesem Leporello dargestellt.

Hörproben

Notenausgaben des CCA 2012:

1. Preis: Doch Laub und Wolken unter Nacht, Johannes Söllner
Best.-Nr.: 3911

2. Preis: Orient Express, Tonio Geugelin
Best.-Nr.: 3912

3. Preis: Sonnet ^5, Sophie Pope
Best.-Nr.: 3913

5. Preis: Five Two Tango, Jonathan Russell
Best.-Nr.: 3914

6. Preis: Schienen-Kapriolen (Capricious Rails), Hans-Günther Allers
Best.-Nr.: 3915

Sonderpreis:
Veitztanz Nr. 1, Michael FP Huber
Best.-Nr.: 3916

Ausser Konkurrenz komponiert:

An Ant's World, Robert Cohen
Best.-Nr.: 4056

Maha Nada, Sebastian Sylla
Best.-Nr.: 4057

Sunfire, Franz Cibulka
Best.-Nr.: 4058